X is for …

e – X – pectations.  I know, a bit cheaty, but honestly; this has worked for me really well all my life, and particularly the last 15 years or so.

Set your personal bar high, and strive to achieve quality (not perfection – that way lies obsession!) in all you do, but, in reverse have low expectations of everyone else – then, as long as you are honestly doing your best, in whatever it is you do daily; interacting with your loved ones, the public, your 9-5 job you can rest, comfortable in that you have contributed to the greater good.

DSC_1828.JPG

Expecting less from everyone else, in all aspects of your life has meant that I have been  repeatedly pleased by the outcome…I joke that I am pleased to wake up of a morning with both retinas attached, but I am honestly that easily pleased. Especially after the experience of an old friend of mine.

Today’s photos are of a bee in the midst of my neighbour Sue’s allotment.

13995530_641548122670174_4398949589693154271_o

I’ve left it huge, so you can easily see the lovely veins in the petals.

She’s given me some seedlings that Mr G is carefully overwintering for me

And one of our allotment last week, showing we have accepted perfection is impossible and embracing the challenge!

Sue’s plot is on the right.

It’s a constant inspiration.

 

About DawnGillDesigns

Finally able to make stuff and get paid for it!!! How cool is this?!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to X is for …

  1. dvberkom says:

    Lovely pics, Dawn. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

