The New Normal?

I’d just got the hang of fairs and organised a whole load of them for this year, when UK anti C-19 measures were imposed. Now I don’t know how many (if any) will be available for me to attend with my shinies this year.

I’ve always welcomed clients to our home by appointment (which, as you know is where I have my workshop / studio) for jewellery consultations or fittings and ‘try ons’ but that too had to pause for a while.

However, as we are now permitted visitors back into the workplace, I have devised a protocol that should comply with the anti-infection requirements, with the minimum of inconvenience to visitors and the maximum comfort I can manage!

Hello Visor!! wp-1595666143328.jpg

It’s only me that needs to wear it, if we sit in this room, I can have the patio doors at one end open, and the front room window at the other – because this part of Exeter is reasonably high, there’s a generous blow through, which combined with staying on opposite sides of the table, means we’ll be well over 1m apart, enabling you to look through and try any of my jewellery at your leisure.

Current guidance is that the virus lasts no longer than 72 hours on metals and hard surfaces (such as gemstones) so I will simply keep visitors to no more than one appointment every 3 days. If you want to come with a friend or family member who’s not in your household or bubble this is permitted within the guidance, but we will need to apply extra care over trying on the jewellery, to reduce the risk of you contaminating each other as one of you picks it up, and the other tries it on for size

I had my first visitor formally try out my ‘new normal’ procedures yesterday – it was such a joy to have her in my home, and have a proper chat.

The process, if you’d like to visit to discuss an order, or a purchase is:

Contact me (email, social media message) to tell me the days you’d like to come / are available for appointment, along with how many people of how many households you’d like to bring with you

We will then make an appointment, and I’ll send you details of what I’m doing to comply with the necessary protections

The morning of the appointment / the afternoon before, I’ll message you again, reiterating the standard questions** and confirming that I’m still safe. You will need to reply so that I have a record of the check list. This will also double as my ‘track and trace’ should it be necessary for us to use it

*Before you arrive I will have cleaned down any and all surfaces you might come into contact with, placed a hand sanitiser by the front door, set up liquid soap and freshly laundered towels in the kitchen (you can choose between the hand sanitiser or soap and water) and also have cleaned the bathroom thoroughly – again there will be liquid soap and a freshly laundered towel for your use should you need it. I’ll also have thoroughly washed my hands, and I’ll have my glamorous visor on rather than a mask so you can see what I’m saying.

During your visit I’ll give you a car parking permit if you drove (this is essential – don’t let me forget it!!) , I’ll wash my hands again after showing you to your chair, and after your visit I’ll re-clean everywhere, and put the towels through the wash.

If you choose to make a purchase, we’ll be able to do so using my contact-less payment device to avoid you having to touch any cash, which I’ll have cleaned since it was last used

After you leave I’ll put all the jewellery back in it’s isolation cupboard, clean down all the surfaces and ring / bangle sizers / tape measures and payment device

I’ll be retaining your contact details for 21 days, in line with the England track and trace requirements.

** Have you had C-19? If so when? Do you currently have any symptoms of C-19? Does anyone that you’ve been in (unprotected) contact with? Have you attended any mass gatherings? If the answer to any of these is ‘yes’ we may have to reschedule.

Email me using DawnGillDesigns@virginmedia.com, pm me using my social media @DawnGillDesigns, or through the contact options in my Etsy shop or website 

 

About DawnGillDesigns

Finally able to make stuff and get paid for it!!! How cool is this?! Find me and my shinies on www.DawnGillDesigns.com and as @DawnGillDesigns on social media
This entry was posted in #HandmadeHour, geek, Gems, Meet The Maker, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The New Normal?

  1. I would love to visit, and try things on…you are so organised I’d feel totally safe! Alas for the 7,600 km in between, (ten times more daunting than the Camino!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • ha ha! yes, it’s a looong way! I’m very fortunate to be in an area with minimal infection, but that’s partly because we are still quite rural and partly because we are taking it seriously!!

      Like

  2. katechiconi says:

    How I wish I could really plan a visit. I’m over twice the distance of Kjerstin, so I’ll just have to enjoy the photos instead. Perhaps if either of us had the right kind of software, I could try on virtual images of your pieces, unreal earrings dangling from my unreal ears. It’d certainly safe on the hand sanitiser and towel laundering!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. acflory says:

    Your process seems to be virus proof! The 72 hour decontamination is what we use for shopping that can’t be washed [goes straight into the book of Offspring’s car]. One thing though, do you require people to wear masks when they visit? 1 metre is not really that far.

    Have you had any more visitors or are you on your 3 day ‘cool down’?

    Liked by 1 person

    • no, I’ve not had anymore yet. I do’t get many requests at the best of times. I contacted everyone who I knew was waiting to see me, and then thought this might help people feeling a bit nervous. I’d sit us outside, but the deck has large (at least 1cm) gaps between the boards, and either I or my visitor usually drops a piece of jewellery, so I don’t want it falling down the gap. Opening the patio doors and the front window genuinely causes a gale – all those prints would blow off the bookshelves the moment I open the front window; I have to move lots of stuff otherwise there’s breakages. The table is actually closer to 2m wide, and I sit well back. I’m obviously happy for them to wear a mask, and I will too if they’d prefer, but this is very much within the current guidance issued by UK central government. I think it helps that the infection rate down here is very low. I’m hoping to have just the one visitor every 10 days / fortnight, and to arrange it and my visits to shops etc five days apart, just for peace of mind. We aren’t being asked to wear any kind of covering when visiting friends or family, but to be honest, the guidance is changing regularly. I have a quarantine table in the hall, so when I get an order, I pack it up in it’s little postage box, and then it waits there til Tuesday am. Which means pretty much everything has had it’s own internal quarantine before it hits the postal service, so once the box is opened, the wrapped sparklies within should be safe!

      Liked by 1 person

      • acflory says:

        lol – no, you would /not/ want to drop something between the boards!
        To be honest I’m rather impressed at your bravery. I’ve gotten to the point that I hate opening the front door to anyone. Case in point, doorbell rang this afternoon. It’s Sunday here so my first thought was..oh no, one of the cats has been run over. What do I do if I have to go out there?
        I know, not very brave. Anyway, opened the door and it was the sweet little delivery man from Australia Post. Delivering on a weekend! I thanked him from a distance and he left the package on the floor for me. And then began the rigmarole of disinfecting the outside, then the inside, then the article itself. Then the gloves, then the hands. By the time this all ends I may never speak to a live person again!
        Btw do your recipients know that you’ve disinfected the contents? Trust me, that would make someone like me feel so much better!

        Liked by 1 person

        • well, it’s something I’ve always done, I think it’s pretty standard practice. You have a particular reason to be so twitchy about visitors, and these are coming by appointment, and after I’ve already either met them in person, (usually at a fair, or they are a previous customer) or had some online contact, so it’s not like a ‘stranger’ rocking up unannounced. Plus of course, MrG works in a supermarket 2 days a week, so we are accustomed to cleaning. I love my posties, especially Judith. Especially at the moment as she’s always keen to have a courgette or 4 😀

          Liked by 1 person

          • acflory says:

            Ah hah! Your garden/allotment must be overflowing. It’s nice that you know your postie. I rarely even see ours as he zips by on a small motorbike. 🙂

            Like

  4. dvberkom says:

    Quite a fetching mask 🙂 So nice to see your lovely face.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Joanne S says:

    Glad you have a planned protocol. I visited a Birkenstock store the other day: Only 4 people at a time inside, masks and hand sanitizer a must, no touching displays (shoe is brought out to you from the back), debit/credit only (which is cleaned after use). Another store had only a mask requirement. Very interesting how different businesses handle C-19 regulations.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great to see you’re getting back on your feet and have a great protocol in place. Hopefully it won’t be too long before we have a vaccine and things can become a little less planned.
    On a different note, do you travel as far as west Dartmoor to do fairs? We punch above our weight as a village fair, having a very busy programme and have had over 700 people attend each of our last two village fairs. Just wondering if you might be interested in a pitch next year? I can send you details if you think you might be – although I appreciate it is a long way from Exeter. Hope you don’t mind me asking, just I’m in charge of acquiring stalls and just realised it might be something you’re interest in.

    Like

    • Yes, it is a bit farther than I usually go, but I’m not going to rule you out on the basis of that, especially as it would be an opportunity to meet you in person! Do please send me some information, and if you have a village website, that has an archive of events, let me have the details, and I can have a look at it, and virtually visit last year’s!! DawnGillDesigns@virginmedia.com Thanks so much for thinking of me. x

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m afraid our village website is always promised a makeover and never happens! I can however send you our blurb about what we’ve done in the past. There’s also certainly no rush for you to commit or decline at the moment. I doubt I’ll get to looking around to invite new people until January. Anyway, I’ll get the stuff over – although it won’t be today and possibly not tomorrow. Glad you’re possibly interested, would be great to meet you in person x

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Going Batty in Wales says:

    Well done for finding a way to meet clients safely. I suspect we may have to live with this thing for quite a while so finding ways and means is important if you run a business.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I think that is one of the most vital information for me. And i am happy studying your article. But should observation on some normal things, The website style is great, the articles is truly great : D. Excellent process, cheers

    Like

  9. My relatives all the time say that I am killing my time here at web, however I know I
    am getting experience all the time by reading thes nice articles.

    Like

  10. SdvillJem says:

    [url=https://tgu-dpo.ru]выберите системы управления обучением тгу дпо [/url]
    Tegs: высокий обучение психолог тгу дпо https://tgu-dpo.ru/program/psychologist
    [u]курсы маркетинга в москве с нуля тгу дпо [/u]
    [i]курсы маркетинга для подростков тгу дпо [/i]
    [b]курсы маркетинга и рекламы тгу дпо [/b]

    Like

  11. I was extremely pleased to discover this site. I wanted to thank you for ones time just for
    this wonderful read!! I definitely loved every part of it and I have you saved to
    fav to check out new stuff on your web site.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.